HISTORIC MASONRY STRUCTURES
ANAGNI MEDIEVAL TOWN
The International Summer School on Historic Masonry Structures 2022 will take place in Anagni, an ancient town and Comune in the province of Frosinone, Latium, central Italy, in the hills east-southeast of Rome.
LECTURES, LODGING,WORKSHOPS & MEALS
Lectures, keynotes, coffee and lunch breaks will take place in the Convitto Principe di Piemonte and its Dining Hall. Co-working areas will be available for workshops and free Wi-Fi connection will be provided to all students. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner (upon request) will be offered in the Convitto Cantine every day. Accommodation in the Convitto is included in the course fee (single rooms with shared bathroom).
The “Collegio Principe di Piemonte” (now “Convitto Principe di Piemonte”) is a big built up area, developed in the period 1927-30, right outside the “Porta Cerere” of Anagni, almost 60 km S-E of Rome. This is an utopian construction for the education of children and youngsters, conceived in a period of fast transformation of Italy toward the end of Industrialism, and following an educational model consistent with the best standards of Continental Europe. The “Collegio” is entitled to the Prince of Piemonte, the title given to the first-born son of the Royal Family of the Savoia, since the XV century.
The “Collegio” was built on the area of a late Medieval Monastery and in proximity of a church (San Pietro in Vineis) buit in the XII century. The monastery, at first a papal residence, became a convent for Clarissae (the feminine Franciscan order) in 1256.
The church, with its frescos, is a monument and a testimony to the first diffusion of feminine Francescanesimus in Italy and to the model of spiritual formation of the nuns and of their values: seclusion, worship and poverty. The “Collegio” incorporated the structure of the Monastery, restoring the church, preserving fragments of the Cosmati pavement and of the frescos.
In the frescos of the choir of the “Clarissae” the iconic strategy of the Order and of its doctrine are painted. The modern visitor can now see most of these extraordinary paintings after a recent thorough work of restoration.
The “Collegio” was designed by the Architect Calza Bini by melting the multi-storey architectural structure of the Mediaeval villages, which adapt to the ground and to the landscape, and the aerial and open space concepts of the European Functionalism. The buildings, oriented in such a way to favor panoramic view and the light and air free passage, are surrounded by trees such as pines, holm oaks, laurel oaks, tilia.
The educational model considered the development of all the aspects of personal schooling and training, and then the “Collegio”, besides the classrooms, was provided with many facilities such as the Gymnasium, the Library, the game fields, the Church and the “mensa”.
The architectural quality of the “Collegio” and of the church of San Pietro in Vineis with its precious frescos and pavements, make this ensemble a unique monument to be preserved.